Thursday, December 25, 2008
Tuesday, December 23, 2008
1000 Voices
Something filled with awesomeness.
http://one-thousand-voices.webs.com/index.htm
Check it out.
1000 Voices is an awesome site...Well at least, I want it to be eventually.
I want it to be a place to promote and support causes like TWLOHA, WWF and others...
I want it to be a community. So yeah. Visit it.
Join it. Chat on the forums....Do stuff.
Yep. Yep. Yep.
Tomorrow's christmas eve.
So Merry almost-christmas-eve.
Laterz<3
Brandi
Posted by B at 12:48 PM 0 comments
Monday, December 22, 2008
8 Days
We have 8 days left on our goal.
And we need to raise $770 in those 8 days.
We're at 69% :-)
This goal is totally getting pwned.
We officially have at this moment: $1,730.
Yep. Basically, if it keeps going like it is (Hoping Christmas doesn't slow it down)
We're totally reaching this goal. Which would be kick ass because that's helping TWLOHA, Hopeline and who knows how many people that online help center is gonna help.
Millions.
Awesome.
To quote Jon M. Chu: "Boom"
So on to less serious stuff.
David Archuleta's new song "A Little Too not Over You", yeah totally loving it.
His voice sounds way more mature on this song then on "Crush" or when he was on AI.
and David Cook...To quote Monti, "Damn"
"Light On" is officially one of my new favorite songs.
Not only can this guy sing, he can look amazing while doing so.
But yeah...Anyways...Like...Join SV.
Support TWLOHA.
Laterz<3
Brandi
Posted by B at 11:07 PM 0 comments
Saturday, December 20, 2008
Why So Serious??
Yeah, so I just got done watching The Dark Knight.
It's rated R, for Really kick ass.
Never really been a big batman fan, but I've gotta admit I liked this movie.
Just awesome. It's a must have to anybody's movie collection.
and even though I could go on and on about the movie, I'm not gonna.
I went christmas shopping with my grandma, aunt and cousin today. Ugh.
Never again...I say this, every year, I know and next year I'll be doing the christmas shopping once again, a week (or in this case it was only 5 days) before christmas.
So, we went to Target and snuck in a buncha toys for my cousin. He's about to turn 4 in January, he's awesome.
Also, my aunt got me a "christmas present" :-)
She bought Menudo's More Than Words EP.
It might only have 4 songs on it, I don't care.
It's still the awesomeness known as Menudo.
It has:
"More Than Words (AEIOU)"
"Mas Que Amor (AEIOU)" (This is More Than Words in Spanish)
"Move"
and what a perfect christmas present?
"This Christmas", which I am listening to now. :-)
So yeah, put The Dark Knight under the tree for someone this Christmas, hell buy it for yourself. Also, add Menudo's More Than Words EP (You can only get this at Target) ohh....and those guys also have a new single on iTunes. "Esperare" Which, if you've been on YouTube and watched the million videos of them performing (Or, if you've been able to see them in concert) this song in English, you'll know by the melody that this is the Spanish version of "Save The Day" *Cough* Awesomeness *Cough*
So yeah...Hope you enjoyed my little rambling about nothing and everything.
Merry- Whatever holiday you celebrate :-)
Laterz<3
~Me
P.S. We were looking at christmas ornaments today, Target had a bunch of the snow babies there (You should check them out) They were really cute, some were in Snow globes and said "Imagine", "Dream", or "Peace" on them while others actually hung on the tree, one I fell in love with: It had cymbals in it's hands and had wings and on the wings it read: "Tis a gift to make music" Yeah. I loved it.
Anyways. Yeah. Go do something constructive like...Join SocialVibe. and Support a cause...yeah, sounds good.
Posted by B at 7:18 PM 0 comments
Tuesday, December 16, 2008
Heavy & Light
Our hearts are heavy and light
We laugh and scream and sing
Our hearts are heavy and light.
In Loving Memory: Casey Calvert
The Heavy and Light event started last year
and is continueing this coming January.
Posted by B at 11:44 AM 0 comments
Thursday, December 11, 2008
My current addiction + TWLOHA's New SocialVibe Goal
Hello once again...
I went to the Dr. today, I got meds for my cold so hopefully I'll be better soon.
Soooo.....Movin' on to the good stuff.
Before I start, I want to note everything that I say in this blog is a PERSONAL OPINION, that does NOT mean it is all TRUE FACTS. Anything said about any companies, bands, brands, etc...Is a personal opinion based on my own views on the music industry and the "typical" boyband....So yeah....Don't sue me, just voicing MY OPINION on MY BLOG. Don't flip out.
So I am pretty music obsessed.
I love music, all kinds. I listen to basically every genre.
I'll even admit to my Nsync obsession back in the day.
I don't care. For those few years, JT was the hottest thing on the planet
*cough* Anyways, not so much of JT fan anymore, Nsync still has some kick ass love songs though....And now adays it's pretty hard to avoid the boyband era that's becoming more and more current then back in the day.
Currently there are a bunch of up and coming boybands, NLT, Menudo (New school), V-Factory, some people want to argue that The Jonas Brothers are a boyband.
I have to disagree with them, they play instruments and write their own songs, no offense to those who don't play and write just...as a song writer I gotta give the JB's a bit more cred for that.
However much I like the JB's writing and playing skills, I'm not a big fan of the "fan girl" and the screaming and the freaking out and crying...Yeah, so I doubt you'll ever see me at a Jonas concert.
Going back to the boyband thing. My definition of a boyband is a group of 3 or more guys that sing and dance on stage. I just wanna clear up what I said earlier, I wasn't saying that boybands can't write their own songs/music they can (By all means, Travis Garland can write some sick lyrics and beats)....It just doesn't happen often because record labels see boybands as a marketing deal and nothing more. They see them as a way to get all those little "fan girls" to buy the cd's and iTunes their songs and buy the t-shirts and the hats and buttons and concert tickets. It's just like Disney and JB, Disney's totally using them. In my opinion their a bunch of kids (Funny I call them kids when two of them are older then me and one is my age) that have a dream of playing and writing and singing music and yeah, Disney's giving them that chance without a doubt but they also tend to play them up as much as possible.
Moving away from the Jonas again.
My first boyband I'm gonna talk about is probably my current favorite.
NLT which stands for "Not Like Them"
I gotta say it's pretty true.
These boys are truly talented, they can sing, they can dance, not to mention they are constantly interacting with their fans. I've heard numerous comments about them actually replying to myspace messages and comments. I've seen many YouTube videos where they give shout outs to fans that couldn't be there, they basically do anything for their fans (Well, minus strip on the spot...However, I'm pretty sure some of you ladies would like that) Most recently I saw a video of Travis (Garland) and Kevin (McHale) singing happy birthday to one of their fans at a show.
On the side, lead singer Travis writes music for other artists as well and he proves to be a talented song writer.
Over all, NLT is a really amazing boyband, between the amazing voices, perfect harmonies and kick ass dance moves that I don't dare even try due to possible tripping over my own feet and falling flat on my er....Face :-)
So, my over all rating for NLT: 99 out of 100 (Don't flip out ladies, the only reason they don't get 100 is cause in all honesty I don't think they give all their members *cough* V and Justin *Cough* enough spot light. I'm not complaining, I love the front men, Travis and Kevin have killer voices and persona's but how will we know what the other's voices/persona's are like if we don't see them enough? I can't say much about their live show, I have never been to one. So, maybe during one of those they'll get that other point.
Moving on.
Menudo. No, not the one with Ricky Martin.
Honestly, when I first heard about Menudo I had no clue there was even an "old school" Menudo. I just thought, they were Menudo. Well, I know the back story now so don't make fun of me too much....In all honesty, I wasn't so sure at first, I had only heard Carlos sing during the MTV bandimonium special when he was singin' about "Rice and beans" so...I wasn't sure. That was until I heard them REALLY sing. More recently I've started to really listen to them, I even watched most of the "Making Menudo" episodes on MTV.com
Those guys were totally different then and now. Chris was very shy, Carlos wasn't very confident (he wasn't shy, just he had moments where he wasn't confident about things), and in all honesty (and Jose, no offense if you ever read this by some freak chance, I'm just calling it like I see it) Jose was a complete asshole. Which is really weird, cause the first time I ever seen him and heard him talk (I think it was on JoJo on the Radio on kiss fm) I pinned him for the sweet and innocent one.....After watching "Making Menudo" I thought to myself, he might be sweet and innocent now but he was a ass to everyone on that show.
But, I guess that was in the past so it doesn't matter. He seems pretty nice now, so that's all that matters.
(Like I said before, if by some freak chance you ever read this, don't hate me for calling you an asshole)
So overall, Menudo is also, pretty awesome. Their voices are...ohhh to quote Monti in "Lost"
"Damn" lol If I were to merry anyone based on nothing but their voice, Jose and Monti would be at the top of the list. (This is based on that "Because of You" a capella they did at the end of "Making Menudo" once again... "Damn" ) Course, I don't see myself ever merrying someone based on nothing but their voice, nor ever merrying let alone meeting Jose or Monti so yeah...Moving on.
I gotta give Menudo a full 100 (The reason they get the extra point is because all their members actually sing leads in their songs. I like that.)
So I'm not really much of a V-Factory fan, I only like one of their songs (These are The Days)
so, I suppose that brings us to an end on our "Boyband ramble"
Which leads me to my next thing. (Gah, this blog is much longer then expected)
I am a HUGE To Write Love On Her Arms Supporter.
If you don't know what it is, you should.
Go here to find out more >>> www.TWLOHA.com
or >>>> www.myspace.com/towriteloveonherarms
I support TWLOHA on SocialVibe and GoodSearch.
Being as I'm basically a broke student with no job I have no way to donate money to them so, I am very thankful for SocialVibe and GoodSearch because with both of them, I can find sponsors that will donate money for me, just for me using their services (for free)
TWLOHA currently has a new goal on SV they want to raise $2,500 in the next 19 days (We already have $114 so that only leaves us with having to make $2,386 in 19 days *cough* get to work *cough*
So, spread the word, join SV and post your badge EVERYWHERE!!!!!!
"Peace, Love and chicken grease" :-P (Only Menudo fans will get this lol)
To end this post I am recommending:
Menudo - More Than Words (AEIOU)
Menudo - Lost
NLT - Karma
NLT - She Said, I Said (Time We Let Go)
and anything on Travis Garland's music myspace : www.myspace.com/travisgarlandmusic
~Sunshine <3
"The world don't see, they think youre too good to love someone like me.But I'll never let you go.I'm gonna hold you in my heart, forget about you never ever. Until were not apart, my forbidden love." ~ "Forbidden Love" by Menudo
Posted by B at 8:13 PM 0 comments
Tuesday, December 9, 2008
Jump right in...
I'm just gonna jump right in here.
I feel really shitty right now.
I'm sick with a fucking cold.
I've got a huge weekend ahead of me yet I doubt I'll be able ot sing the way I feel right now.
I have 3 or more songs to learn before Saturday.
I have to get 2 videos done before Saturday.
Not to mention feel better.
I'm nervous as hell about singing a lead this weekend, even if it will be at my house with people I should be able to trust and know that their not gonna care what I sound like.
But none-the-less, I am SUPER nervous.
On the bright side of all of this...
I will get to see my youngin', Madi this weekend.
I love her and I am SO proud of her.
Anyways, I am over do for more cold meds....MAYBE just MAYBE I will be able to kick this before weekend.
I have 3 days to get to a point where I don't have a frog in my throat and nasty green stuff in my chest.
Moving on to less disgusting things.
I'm diggin' this "Blogger" thing.
Pretty cool. We'll give it a couple of days to see how it's compared to LiveJournal but none-the-less I like it so far.
My title, "Sunshine Tells All" inspired by 2 things, 1: I'm telling everything that I'm thinking/feeling. I don't care anymore 2: I absolutely love the band SkyTellsAll. Look them up on Myspace :-)
or better yet here: www.myspace.com/skytellsall
"World Wide Sing Along" is the bomb.
"Well I heard good things fall apart so better things could fall together,
if there was one thing I could say to you to make you say forever,
Well I'd say it till my lungs gave out and I'd teach the world this song,
In hopes to make you hear it everyday, just to prove you wrong
So we've both got dreams that don't mean a thing
It's time to get it together
and best friends, are meant to fall in love
but I hope you know you what I'm dreaming of
so take this kiss for everything it's worth
it's not a blessing it's a curse, I think I made this worse."
You guys are brilliant. Nuff said.
I am off to never never land now....Trying to catch Peter Pan before Wendy kicks him out for cheating on her with Tink. :-P
~Sunshine <3 style="MARGIN-TOP: 0px; WIDTH: 284px; TEXT-ALIGN: center">
Posted by B at 3:03 PM 0 comments
